happydalek: (Default)
Phew!  Well, the tide of creepy dreams has ebbed the past couple of days, and I have to say I'm relieved.  It was getting to be no fun waking up freaked out every morning.  My alarm clock works just fine, thank you!  Although...the past couple of mornings, I've been turning off the alarm and sleeping in, and waking bolt upright sometime later because I thought I heard the alarm when I actually didn't.  So that's a little weird.  

Also!  Even though Congress pushed back the mandatory digital conversion to June, on Feb. 17 a lot our local television stations went all digital anyway, so my parents went ahead and installed their converter boxes.  So now instead of 6 channels, they get 10.  But sometimes just eight.  On a good day.  If they can find a good spot to prop the antenna.  Most of the time.  If nobody is walking around on the second floor of the house.  Or walking through the middle of the family room.  Get the idea?  *headdesk*  The thing about it that annoys me the most is that if the digital signal gets interfered with, you lose picture and sound, not just one or the other, like analog tended to.  My folks even went out and bought a "power antenna" specifically for digital to try and get better reception, but it actually worked worse than their rabbit ears do.  Digital is just so damn finicky.  Reason #10,356,947 for me to not watch broadcast television.  

Except that one of the new channels we get is something called "Retro Television Network" that shows stuff like Magnum, P.I., Marcus Welby, M.D., Quincy, M.E., The A Team, Knight Rider (the original, with The Hoff), etc.  Shows I was either too young to watch, or have heard about constantly, but never got a chance to watch.  We get an old movie channel that showed Inherit the Wind the other day, too.  It's really cool.  So now I'm kinda torn between my principles and the retro awesome.

In other news, my neck still hurts.  I'm exercising gently and popping ibuprofen, and it's not as bad as it was the first day when my shoulder was in on the act, but it's been the same level of ouch for several days now, and that's unusual.  But it's over 50 degrees F today!  Whoo!
happydalek: (didn't see that coming)
Not cool.

It appears my dvd player has just given up the ghost.  It's gone completely dead, with absolutely no warning whatsoever.  Dang it, it wasn't more than three years old!  This is the second one in five years, too.  (Admittedly, I accidentally killed the first one by putting a pc game disc in it that corrupted it, so my bad.  But still.)  Maybe I should stop buying dirt-cheap, off-brand electronics.  On the other hand, I never have any money for the good stuff.  Rabbits! 

Ah, well.  Off to WalMart, I s'pose. 

Profile

happydalek: (Default)
happydalek

August 2012

S M T W T F S
   1234
5678910 11
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 09:17 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios