happydalek: (brain)
happydalek ([personal profile] happydalek) wrote2008-05-12 07:20 pm
Entry tags:

The Doctor's Daughter

Yikes, two posts in one day!  Can you tell I have just graduated from school, quit my job and spent my whole day playing around on the internet?

This was probably the single most unpleasant episode of the series I've made myself sit through.  I knew from the moment Jenny stepped out of the clone box that she was going to snuff it by the end and the thought of giving the Doctor another of his own kind just so he can get attached enough to bawl like a baby when they inevitably die strikes me as abhorrent character abuse and totally ruined my ability to appreciate the rest of the episode.  I was literally screaming Tennant's lines from LotTL ("Regenerate!  It's only a bullet, REGENERATE!!") at the screen when Jenny pulled her amazingly predictable Heroic Sacrifice, and was so thoroughly disgusted by it that I almost couldn't finish the episode.  Then Jenny regenerated (sort of) and flew off to be The Doctor's Daughter (I smell spinoff), which only made me angrier, because then the entire sacrifice became a shameless and totally uncreative attempt to Tug at the Heartstrings.  And now the Doctor is once again carrying the fresh load of Watching His People Die on his shoulders for absolutely no good reason.  As if anybody needed any more convincing that the Doctor can do Angst.  I love torturing characters as much as anybody, but really, the Doctor really deserves a frickin' break.  Sheesh. 

In summary, Stephen Greenhorn, I hate your writing. 

[identity profile] naushika.livejournal.com 2008-05-13 12:47 am (UTC)(link)
This was the worst written episode of the new series, for sure. The only reason I managed to walk away from the episode feeling okay was because I thought Jenny was just really adorable and I actually liked her, and also Donna was great as per the usual. Otherwise, there were more holes in this episode than a giant block of swiss cheese.

Stephen Greenhorn also wrote The Lazarus Experiment, which was another not awesome episode. They need to fire that guy or something. :X

[identity profile] happydalek.livejournal.com 2008-05-13 03:05 am (UTC)(link)
Oh, geez, I haven't even *bothered* to analyze all the other holes in this one, mostly because the rest of the plot was so contrived. An all-around yuck, this one. Which is really amazing, because all the other episodes of S4 have pretty much rocked. Yes, Stephen Greenhorn needs to have his keyboard taken away. :P

[identity profile] leoniedelt.livejournal.com 2008-05-13 06:09 am (UTC)(link)
Yep. Yep entirely.

And umm. congratz on graduating. Not sure if i should gratz you on quitting your job or not?

[identity profile] happydalek.livejournal.com 2008-05-13 02:31 pm (UTC)(link)
Haha! Thanks. I was working for the university, so quitting when I graduated was kind of built-in, you know? Seeing as I was working in a dishroom, I think I can probably do better now that I have the paper that sez im supr smart! Hehe.