happydalek: (didn't see that coming)
happydalek ([personal profile] happydalek) wrote2007-02-11 06:46 pm
Entry tags:

For the Record...

This makes me annoyed.  I figured it was only a matter of time before it happened, but I was hoping they'd hold off on it for another series or two, because, dang it, I was going to do this!  I have a story arc and character sketch all ready and waiting in the wings, and now RTD and his gang of merry men will beat me to it!  What really annoys me is that (assuming this is true) now I'm going to feel obligated to wait and see what they do with it, and then find some way to work that into my original idea so that the continuity all fits.  I wouldn't have to, of course, but I'm one of those fanwank-y writers that likes to have all her ducks neatly in a row, canon-wise.  Argh! 

I wouldn't be so worried about it, except that I've worked it out that this is a major event in what I'd hoped to make into a series, developing and resolving a very specific character arc.  Plus, you know, there's the whole ego thing of it, of wanting to be able to say "it was my idea first!" and have proof to back it up.  At least, if this little rumor turns out to be true, it offers a glimmer of hope that someday RTD will greenlight a multi-Doctor story.  That man's eaten his words enough times already that nothing seems impossible anymore.  And if he consents to that, then I wouldn't mind at all him stealing some of my ideas.  Anything to get PD back in his sexy cricket gear.

[identity profile] leoniedelt.livejournal.com 2007-02-12 09:27 am (UTC)(link)
Rawr. PD in sexy cricket gear. Yes.