happydalek: (loony grin)
happydalek ([personal profile] happydalek) wrote2007-01-28 10:18 pm
Entry tags:

Brain recalled due to manufacturing defect...

Why, oh why does my brain always latch onto weird, hokey stuff? 

I sooo should be working on my schoolwork right now.  At the very least, I should be pounding out the last three parts to 'Fission' and finish the dumb thing.  Instead, the only productive thing I did all week was go to the gym a couple of times.
I staggered my workouts so that I worked different muscle groups each time, with the end result being that by the end of the week, my entire body hurt.  I've gotten so out of shape in the last 18 months, it's ridiculous.  I tend to go in cycles with this sort of thing.  I get into obsessive kicks about fitness, only to lapse once I've started to get some satisfying results.   Hopefully I'll learn to strike more of a balance this time and stick with it.  Could be worse, though.  All the walking I've done the last year to get to my classes has kept my aerobic fitness from going completely in the toilet.  It was tough going for about a week, but I'm really surprised to see how fast I'm getting it back.  It was the lapse over Christmas break that set me back.  I should have worked out today, but I spent two hours getting lost on the turnpike today with my sister on the way to a baby shower and didn't have time. 

Such is life.

I have to confess, though, since I saw 'Rocky Balboa' last week, I've gotten kind of obsessed.
I rented and watched all five of the original Rocky movies, and I've been looping "Eye of the Tiger" and "Gonna Fly Now" (the Rocky theme) on my MP3 player all week.  They're just so damn inspirational, I can't help myself.  I plan to tackle the Rambo movies next.  I'm sort of hoping this Stallone kick is just the result of cyclical female hormones and will start to ebb soon, because I just can't deal with the fact that I've been fantasizing about 60-year-old Sylvester Stallone all week.  I read his Q&A on Ain't It Cool.com (all 20 rounds of it), and was surprised by just how articulate, witty and intelligent the man actually is.  
I mostly can't get over how incredibly great he looks in his Rocky fedora, then and now.  


You see the state I'm in?  My brain is broke, I tell ya!

[identity profile] ghost2.livejournal.com 2007-02-03 09:22 am (UTC)(link)
I LOVE the first Rocky. It was truly outstanding and one of the greatest movies ever, period. Not just one of the greatest sports movies. I'm not fond of the sequels, II-V, though. They weren't up to the standard of the first by any means, although I think II and III were reasonably entertaining just for something to watch.

I've heard that Rocky Balboa is excellent, which makes me happy. At least things can go out on a high note. I couldn't resist reading the spoilers so I do already know how it ends. I'm going to wait till it comes out on DVD to see it.

[identity profile] happydalek.livejournal.com 2007-02-03 10:39 pm (UTC)(link)
Yeah, the sequels consistently lose traction over the years until it all sort of grinds to a halt in 'Rocky V.' Doesn't stop me from irrationally loving each and every one of them, though! As for 'Balboa,' it's very, very good, for being a sequel no one wanted. My parents saw it a few evenings ago and both of them really enjoyed it. My dad's started to get a little obsessed, now too! [Sigh] If only 'Doctor Who' were this contagious! I'm holding out for a six-movie Rocky boxset, packed with special features. Thanks for stopping by, ghost2!