happydalek: (Default)
happydalek ([personal profile] happydalek) wrote2007-01-07 10:24 pm

GAH!

I am *soooo* out of shape! 

I didn't make any New Year's resolutions (I usually don't, since I never keep them anyway), but I've been meaning for some time now to get fit.  I've been overweight since high school, but a few years ago I successfully got my butt in gear and dropped about 15 lbs through a combination of daily exercise and a low-carb diet (you know, back when they were the "it" thing).  I was doing a really good job of keeping it off, too, until about a year ago, when I quit my job and switched colleges.  I have since gained back about 12 of those 15 lbs, and my skin and hair are not happy about it.  Plus, the upheaval and stress plunged me into (what I now realize was) a mild depression that made it difficult to even get my butt to class in the afternoon, let alone drag it onto a treadmill, which is ironic, because exercise is a good way to relieve mild depression. 

Long story short, I got back on the treadmill tonight, planning to do a simple, half-hour jog.  I had to stop after 15 minutes, and I walked most of that.  It was a fast walk, and I worked up a good sweat, and my heart raced, but it was 15 MINUTES OF WALKING!  At my fittest, I was doing 90 mins A DAY, both aerobic and weight training, and still bounding with energy afterwards.  Oh, how the mighty have fallen!  I'm going to stick with it, and slowly slog my way back to health and happiness, but I hadn't realized just how badly I'd let myself slip until now.  Yikes!

[identity profile] leoniedelt.livejournal.com 2007-01-08 08:12 am (UTC)(link)
Weight gain sucks. Stress sucks.

Says the girl who is 30lbs overweight, and its all boobs and arse. :(

Keep up the good work, you!

[identity profile] happydalek.livejournal.com 2007-01-08 05:01 pm (UTC)(link)
Thanks for the encouragement! Truth be told, I probably have just as much weight to lose as you to appease the almight BMI (I like to think that I'm not overweight, but undertall. So add 'delusional' to the list of symptoms!). The worst thing is that my mom has started to suspect that I have hypothyroidism (which runs in her side of the family), so I mostly want to prove that she's wrong (she has a tendency to assume the worst about everything and everybody).

[identity profile] leoniedelt.livejournal.com 2007-01-08 05:20 pm (UTC)(link)
I have the hypothyroidism thing, arse and all - its not something you want if you can avoid it!

I gave up on satisfying the BMI a long time ago - BMI says i ought to be about 130lbs. I got down to 143 last November, i looked like a skeleton and was being tested for cancer, so i wont ever want to get that thin again.

147 would suit me. So i need to lose 30-35lbs to achieve it :( I dont know exactly where i am today; i avoid the scales, they scare me.

[identity profile] happydalek.livejournal.com 2007-01-08 05:33 pm (UTC)(link)
Wow. I don't do scales much, either. I mostly judge based on how my clothes fit. I bought some new pants when I lost that weight, and they're all starting to get tight. When I did some calculating, I figured that to be just under the overweight category I need to be about 135 or so. Sad to think that a few years ago that meant only losing about 10 lbs! Oh, well. No use crying over spilt milk and all that! My whole family is built either tall and skinny or short and stocky. It so happens I got the latter set of genes!

[identity profile] leoniedelt.livejournal.com 2007-01-08 05:50 pm (UTC)(link)
My family are all tall and > 250lbs. I'm the 'little' one.