happydalek: (didn't see that coming)
happydalek ([personal profile] happydalek) wrote2007-10-24 11:07 pm
Entry tags:

What the hell, people?!

Excuse my francais, but I just checked my university email, and found yet another "timely warning" in my inbox.  The university posts/issues these whenever criminal activity has been reported on or around campus, to inform the students about what's happened and ask for information/leads.  Typically, there might be about two of these issued per semester.  This newest warning is the FOURTH this semester, and there's still almost two months left to go. 

To highlight just how unusually bad things are, the first timely warning of the term happened before classes even started!  In order, the warnings were:

1.  An alleged gang rape that happened at a party just off-campus.   (The girl eventually stopped cooperating with the police and dropped charges against the freshmen football players who were accused.  The players were expelled anyway.)

2.  A dude in a white truck who was driving around campus apparently trying to pick up a suitably innocent-looking young woman to befoul.  (I think this pervert's been cruising the university for awhile, because I seem to remember prior warnings that were pretty similar in details.)

3.   A freakin' ARMED ROBBERY where two guys broke into an apartment and started waving a handgun around.

4.  Now, some guy was seen wandering around the student center, using his hand to simulate shooting himself in the head with a gun.  One witness claimed he actually HAD a gun.

So I say again, what the hell, people?!  GEEEZ.  Used to be, the worst that'd happen was some losers would break into an unlocked apartment and make off with your beer and maybe your ipod or laptop if you were dumb enough to leave them there.  Why is everybody going so hardcore all the sudden?

[identity profile] rhube.livejournal.com 2007-10-25 11:30 am (UTC)(link)
Holy shit! A gang rape?!

We did have a murder here once (many moons ago and long before my time) which is pretty O_o, but mostly the worst we have is the occasional gang of chavs up from Tang Hall hanging out in Retreat Lane (short cut from Uni to Hes Road - a main thoroughfair - through the quaker retreat/psychiatric hospital). A friend of mine did get attacked there once, but usually as long as you don't go down there alone at night you've nothing to worry about (and, to be honest, it's mostly alrigth anyway, when my friend got attacked it was after the police had been turfing the gangs out, and he was in LARP kit).

[identity profile] happydalek.livejournal.com 2007-10-25 12:17 pm (UTC)(link)
Quakers, eh? Around here, it's Amish. ; )

Yes, a gang rape. (Well, allegedly.) The university has an ever-present campaign about sexual violence on campus, but it still happens frequently enough that I'm not really all that surprised. Staying out of trouble is pretty easy in those cases: don't walk alone at night, and be very careful at parties. (I don't go to those kinds of parties anyway, so it's never a problem for me. )

It's the guns and such that are freaking me out. You just don't expect that kind of criminal behavior at a university.

[identity profile] rhube.livejournal.com 2007-10-25 05:09 pm (UTC)(link)
I'm glad sexual violence isn't such a problem here - York is pretty much the safest place I've ever lived. It's just not a real city... 'cept for the fucking big Cathedral, of course

[identity profile] happydalek.livejournal.com 2007-10-25 07:31 pm (UTC)(link)
I find it amusing that you use the presence of a cathedral to help define a "real city!" How...quaint! ; ) Interestingly, I'm currently living about half an hour away from York, U.S.A, where there are quite a few churches, but no cathedrals as such.