happydalek: (Default)
happydalek ([personal profile] happydalek) wrote2009-12-14 10:54 pm
Entry tags:

Info Dump and musey musings.

Not much fandomish going on in my life right now.  Working full time (ish...two part time jobs) has kild my muse ded for the tiem being, it seems.  Still watching Heroes but haven't made time for a proper reaction post because, frankly, most of the episodes have left me feeling rather "meh."  Not much to report.  Still trying to attempt a MMSR sequel.  Hard to feel motivated when nothing about it surprises or excites me.  Have to figure something out.  Still churning away at the Doctor Who fic I came up with a little while ago involving the Master that my brain is convinced will be awesome. (Long sentence is long.)  It's now going to include extra Doctor.  As is, I felt I had a bit too much OC happenings, and I know that can get horribly boring when you click on something hoping to read about what the canon peeps are up to.  Trouble with the Who fic is, I have a lot of research I should probably do, and it's pretty glacially paced right now.  It may turn out to be zippy when I actually write it do the long portions of "...and time passed" montages my brain is filling it with.  So, it's not quite 'there' yet.  And probably won't ever be, based on what usually happens to these great ideas I leave gestating on the back burner.  *eye roll* 

My day job is awesome for brainstorming.  I can sit and clean stuff for five hours and chew on plot points at the same time.  Trouble is, my night work does a fantastic job of making me completely forget and lose interest in what I was working on.  Retail is bad for the brain that way.  It eats up all my creative energies.  Hopefully I'll be able to think more productively after the holidays.  Christmas is a horrible time of year.  I really hate it when I have to work in retail.  Underscores all the things that I dislike about it.  

But before I go all tangenty about it, yay for Christmas Doctor Who!  David Tennant is this close to being GONE and I'm so excited about it.  Not that I'm a Tennant hater or anything.  He's a very good actor.  I just can't stand 10.  I tried to like him, really I did.  And it took me his entire tenure to figure out that the reason it wasn't working is because 10 is designed to be unlikeable.  Looking back, it's so blindingly obvious I feel like an idiot.  Christmas Invasion, he's wondering what sort of man he is.  "Am I rude now?"  Yes, you are.  You're a power-tripping jerk.  I guess I kept thinking he'd get over it, or I was imagining it.  I kept trying to look past it, but Rusty, in his authorial brilliance, wouldn't let me, because he's been steadily emphasizing it.  So instead of mourning a character-gone-wrong and going all, "oh WHY wasn't 10 written better?!" I can feel secure in my jubilation at his imminent departure, because I'm supposed to.  Thank Rassilon, my world makes sense again.

On a slightly different note, I'm combing the "Other Doctors" section of Teaspoon looking for creative, unique takes on Doctor Who.  I want to read experimental stuff that really takes advantage of the enormous potential that's there.  Heck, I want to write some of dat sheit.  (Now that I've finally stopped trying to put fictionalized versions of Michael Jackson into everything.  That was a strange couple of months.)  Recs?